Thursday, May 23, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

A Quack-ing Good Time Duck Race Takes Over Plantation Park

The Norm Perry Memorial Duck Race brought bright yellow fun to Plantation Park on Sunday, May 19.
Family-friendly activities, including colouring contests and novelty races, started the morning  with plenty of other activities keeping attendees entertained before the big race.
Speaking on Sunday, Organiser and Rotary Club of Ayr volunteer John McVeigh said that 200 ducks were sold for the race and 31 decorated ducks were entered, although it’s too early to tell how much money was raised for Burdekin Combined Chaplaincy and Burdekin Community Association.
“The day was a great success,” Mr McVeigh said.
“Everyone appeared to have a great time and the sellers of ducks and fire pit raffle tickets were kept very busy.”

Louise Nicholas with Best Duck Outfit winners Everly and Kip Nicholas. Photo credit: Chelsea Ravizza

2024 Norm Perry Memorial Duck Race
Winners And Results

Top 5 Duck Placings
1st Prize: $1,000 and the 2024 Quack Duck – Duck #75, Des Fenech
2nd Prize: $750 – Duck #80, Real Shed Fabrication
3rd Prize: $500 – Duck #173, Vicki Quirk
4th Prize: $300 – Duck #67, Jennine Symons-Roberts
5th Prize: $200 – Duck #41, Sophie Oar

Lucky Draws: $50 each
1. Duck #182 Bobby Kitson
2. Duck # 51 Terry Deambrosis
3. Duck # 72 Roger Timm
4. Duck #9 Kristian Bellamy
5. Duck #131 Torrie Davies

Best Decorated Duck: $100
$100 – Burdekin Community Association
$30 each – Azahlia Worlein, Nutrien Harcourts McCathies, Kip & Everley Nicholas

Best Duck Outfit: $50 each
Everley Nicholas, Kip Nicholas

Raffle Prize: Fire Pit
Ticket #083 Julie Cook

Caption 1: Adam Perry and Jimmy Hayllor
Caption 2: Member for Dawson Andrew Wilcox and Burdekin Shire Council Mayor Pierina Dalle Cort
Caption 3: Claire, Jayden, Chris, and Sophie Pirrone
Caption 4: Emma, Hamish and Eden Chapman
Caption 5: Evie Fabbro, Abbie De Wit and Oscar Kelly
Caption 6: Florence Giddy, Gabriella Hibberd and Tarah Giddy
Caption 7: Frank Nucifora on duck duty
Caption 8: Josh Furnell and Jamie Conneely
Caption 9: Kara and Theia Cox, and Shirley and Ian McChesney-Clark
Caption 10: Lyndy McCathie and Jye and Kari Ravizza
Caption 11: Nathan Cook, Brayden Becke, Chloe Hook, Mahala Thorne, Bhree Mclean and Maree Holmes
Caption 12: Nathan Cook, Taj Cogzell, Amanda Brown, Chelsea O'Shea, Maddy Geitz and Lucy Kelly
Caption 13: Remmie Schultz, Emilee Wassmuth and Lani Olsen
Caption 14: Rhegan Koia, Beth Duthie, Xanthie Kohn, Michelle Connolly, Michelle Harris, Biancia and Tyler Hall, Tahlia Connolly and Izaylea Lofts
Caption 15: Rodney Williams and Chalie Nucifora
Caption 16: Taj Cogzell and Chelsea O'Shea
Caption 17: The Burdekin Brass Band
Caption 18-19: Sack race fun and games
Caption 20: Photo credit: Chelsea Ravizza

In other news