Wednesday, May 15, 2024


Mackay and Whitsunday Life

Celebrating Another Successful Season With Ayr Surf Life Saving Club

The Ayr Surf Life Saving Club celebrated another season of success on Saturday night at their annual club presentation night. This year the club had a joined event where both the Junior and Senior members came together to recognise the contribution of members to the club in all areas of service including surf sports, volunteering/community service and patrolling. The club would like to thank all sponsors for the evening, perpetual and memorial trophy families and life members for their continued support. The patrolling season has come to an end over the May Day long weekend and the Ayr Surf Club will return to volunteer patrols in September. They are looking at conducting a Bronze Medallion and training Course over the next couple of months, so if you are interested, please contact the administrator or Kellie Lawry.

Junior Age Champions L-R: Parker Bonato, Isla Chapman, Emma Jones, Billie Gibson, Lewis Bonato, Lola Gibson, Briella Wassmuth, Torah Giddy, Toby Hatherell, Eliza Hayllor, Charlotte Dale and Mia Wicks. Absent: Jude Lawry, Ryan Irvine and Nate Giddy. Photo supplied

Ayr Surf Life Saving Club
Presentation Night

Junior Presentations
Age Champions:

U6 - Eliza Hayllor, U7 - Torah Giddy & Jude Lawry, U8 - Toby Hatherell, U9 - Lola Gibson & Ryan Irvine, U10 - Charlotte Dale & Lewis Bonato, U11 - Mia Wicks, U12 - Emma Jones & Nate Giddy, U13 - Briella Wassmuth & Parker Bonato, U14 - Isla Chapman & Billy Gibson
The Bill Blakey Memorial Trophy for Junior Male & Female Best Trier - Harrison Sartori & Lola Gibson
Open Male & Female Best Trier - Zachary Dale & Milla Chapman
Encouragement Awards - Oscar Hayllor & Jake Sartori
The Burdekin Swim School Best Male & Female Open Water Swimmer (Sponsored by John & Lisa Furnell) - Parker Bonato & Isla Chapman
The Bevan and Treena List Perpetual Trophy Open Ironman & Ironmaiden - Zachary Dale & Isla Chapman
The Bennett Family Memorial Trophy for The Junior Champions: Lewis Bonato & Taylor Chapman
Senior Champions - Parker Bonato & Isla Chapman
The JR Benvenuti Memorial Trophy Most Improved Junior - Alexandra Moloney
The Roy & Bev Young Perpetual Trophy Most Improved Open - Cole Pontifex
Robbie & Joyce Great Perpetual Trophy Most Points at Carnivals - Milla Chapman
Bob & Bev Andrews Perpetual Trophy Most Promising Junior - Taylor Chapman & Charlotte Dale
Junior Long Service Award - Bella Lawry
Jack Satori Memorial Trophy Most Consistent All Rounder - Isla Chapman
Margaret Webber Memorial Trophy Junior Life Saver of the Year - Bella Lawry

Senior Presentations
Age Champions:

U15 – Ryley Sartori, U17 – Sophia Moloney, Female Master Champion (Donated by Robin Bennett) – Kristy Wassmuth, Male Master Champion (Donated By Bevan & Treena List) – John Moloney & Jimmy Hayllor, Winn Family Trophy for Female Open Champion (Donated by John and Rosemarie Winn) – Kristy Wassmuth, Mr & Mrs Jack Vernon Memorial for Male Open Champion (Donated by Hockey & Carol Vernon) – Josh Furnell
Open Ironwoman - Kristy Wassmuth & Open Ironman - John Moloney
Don Johnson Memorial Official of the Year (Donated by the Johnson Family) – Steph Dale
Contribution to Surf Rescue (Donated by Furnell Family) – Ben & Kellie Lawry
Jim Great Memorial for Most Efficient Patrol Member (Donated by Robbie & Joyce Great) – Bella Lawry (152hrs)
Patrol Group of the Year – Group D – Ben Lawry, Kellie Lawry, Kristy Wassmuth, Danica Archibald, Sharlie Archibald, Lisa Vivian, Mia Vivian & Bella Lawry
Kevin (Keg) Helander Memorial for Club Member for Outstanding Services – (Donated by the Helander Family) – Kellie Lawry
Sam Johnson Memorial for Most Active Club Member (Donated by the Johnson Family) – Jimmy Hayllor
June Galbraith Memorial Encouragement Award (Donated by the Galbraith Family) – Sophia Moloney
Lifesaver of the Year (Donated by Chappell Family) – Ben Lawry

Contributed by Kellie Lawry

The Bennett Family Memorial Trophy for Junior Champions - Lewis Bonato and Taylor Chapman presented by John Winn and Ben Lawry
Senior Champions - Parker Bonato and Isla Chapman with Ben Lawry
Margaret Webber Memorial Trophy for Junior Life Saver of the Year - Bella Lawry presented by Paul Webber
Don Johnson Memorial Official of the Year - Steph Dale presented by James Kennedy
Lifesaver of the Year (donated by the Chappell Family) - Ben Lawry presented by Mr Chappell
Life Members back L-R: Lisa Furnell, Roy Young, Terry Lund and James Kennedy. Front L-R Linda Scott, Treena List, Robbie Great, Hockey Vernon (patron) and John Winn

Photos supplied

In other news